Transparency style – opacity

I really want to make transparency on my website

because it is lightweight and the effect is charming.

it is done by CSS attribute opacity.

I like to keep my web compatible for FF and IE.

I will go straight to the code.

.modalLayer{
opacity: .5;       //for FF
filter: alpha(opacity = 50);      //for IE
height: 50px;
width: 50px;
background-color:#000000;
position:absolute;
}

1 means visible, 0 means invisible. same for 100~0 in IE.

opacity from 1 to 0 is W3C standard.

This is why I don’t like IE, no standard at all and many more to come.

You’ll see what I mean.

REMARK: This effect needs height and width to work together.

Leave a Reply

